Sep 2014

Foy, Holloway and Massey top the honours at the 2014 headlineauto awards

This year’s automotive media ‘Oscars’, the headlineauto Journalism and PR awards, last night saw Henry Foy of the Financial Times and Autocar’s Hilton Holloway take home multiple gongs while Ray Massey, Transport Editor of the Daily Mail received the Outstanding Contribution award for more than 20 years writing about the car industry.

Foy was voted National Newspaper Writer, ending a remarkable run of five successive victories for the recently retired Ken Gibson of The Sun. Foy also took the award for the Business Writer of the Year.


Holloway was named News Writer of the Year for the fourth time in five years while also picking up the Environmental Journalist of the Year award for the second year running. Autocar magazine was also voted Best Consumer publication while also collective the award for best Automotive Website.

TopGear magazine featured strongly at the sixth headlineauto awards held last night with Charlie Turner winning Editor of the Year and Sam Philip voted Lifestyle Writer of the Year. Consumer Journalist of the Year was What Car?’s Matthew Burrow, Frederic Manby of the Yorkshire Post picked up Regional Writer of the Year, Nick Dimbleby was declared Photographer of the Year while the Rising Star award went to Andrew Brady of Motoring Research.

The Best Motoring Section award was won by the Daily Telegraph, Car Dealer Magazine was the Best Business Publication and Automotive Engineer won the award for the Best Technical Specialist title. Best Use of Video went to Jon Quirk at AutoTrader and Best Use of Digital to the MotorTorque website.

In the PR categories it was a good night for Jaguar Land Rover which won the award for the best International Event for its unveil of the Jaguar F-TYPE Coupe at the Los Angeles Auto Show, while the company was also a winner in the Best Use of Digital award. Best Event for the UK Media went to MINI for the launch of the new MINI Hatch in Mallorca, Spain.

Best support agency was handed to MPA Creative for its work turning round the 2013 Wales Rally GB on a tight budget while Faye Callaghan of Prova PR picked up the Rising Star award.

Top honours in the PR awards, however, went to Peugeot’s Andrew Didlick, voted PR Person of the Year, while Volkswagen came out on top as Press Office of the Year.

To find out more details about all the winners click on the Book of Winners:

The headlineauto Journalism and PR Awards are designed to celebrate and recognise the strength and depth of automotive journalism and PR in the UK.

An initial list of more than 830 nominations, an increase of 19 per cent over 2013, produced a shortlist of 81 writers, photographers, broadcasters and publications, both print and online, to take forward to the judging stage in each of the 17 Journalism categories.  Total nominations across the seven PR categories rose to more than 270, a 34 per cent increase on last year. The PR Person and Rising Star awards were decided on a votes cast basis while a panel of judges met to decide the winners in five of the PR categories, a first for the awards.

For full details of all our category winners, including images and judging comments, and an explanation of how the nomination and judging process works, please visit our awards website.